Skip to Content

Harleston Parker Medal

Submission Deadline: February 21, 2014
Btn Submit Entry iCal

Past Awardees

Roger E. Wellington Elementary School, designed by Jonathan Levi Architects with Stantec Architecture, photo by David LenaCambridge Public Library, designed by William Rawn Associates with Ann Beha Architects. Photo by Robert Benson or Chuck Choi.Harry Parker Boathouse, designed by Anmahian Winton Architects. Photo by Peter Vanderwarker.Harry Parker Boathouse, designed by Anmahian Winton Architects. Photo by Jane Messinger.

Click on any of the thumbnails above to view a slideshow of recent award winners.

This annual honor seeks to recognize “the single most beautiful building or other structure” built in the metropolitan Boston area in the past 10 years.

2014 Harleston Parker Medal Finalists


  • Foster + Partners with CBT for MFA Art of the Americas Wing
  • Utile for Boston Harbor Island Pavilion
  • William Rawn Associates, Architects for Temple Beth Elohim
  • Renzo Piano Building Workshop with Stantec for Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum
  • William Rawn Associates, Architects for Boston Public Library, East Boston Branch

2014 Harleston Parker Jury


Gretchen Von Grossman, MBTA (chair)  
Kathy Sharpless 
Michael Cannizzo AIA, Boston Redevelopment Authority
Patrick McCafferty, Arup 
Mette Aamodt AIA, aamodt / plumb architects
Kaki Martin, Klopfer Martin Design Group
Philip J. Casey, Jr., AIA, CBT Architects
Stella Gould, WCVB-TV’s Chronicle
David Lee FAIA, Stull and Lee             
Mary Skelton Roberts, Barr Foundation

2015 Nomination deadline: Friday, February 20 at 4:00 pm. 



Nominations are invited for the 2014 Harleston Parker Medal, which is presented to “such architects as shall have, in the opinion of the Boston Society of Architects...completed the erection for any private citizen, association, corporation, or public authority, the most beautiful piece of architecture, building, monument, or structure within the limits of the City of Boston or of the Metropolitan Parks District” (Arlington, Belmont, Boston, Braintree, Brookline, Cambridge, Canton, Chelsea, Dedham, Dover, Everett, Hingham, Hull, Lynn, Malden, Medford, Melrose, Milton, Nahant, Needham, Newton, Quincy, Revere, Saugus, Somerville, Stoneham, Swampscott, Wakefield, Waltham, Watertown, Wellesley, Weston, Weymouth, Winchester, Winthrop, and Woburn).

To be eligible, a project:
    •    May be of any scale, program, or level of public visibility
    •    May be a rehabilitated building or structure
    •    Must have been completed between December 31, 2003, and December 31, 2013

You may nominate your own or any other that work you believe merits consideration. Projects that have been honored in past years and work by jurors or by their firms are ineligible. Nominated projects from prior years that have not been recognized will continue to be considered by subsequent juries until these projects are ruled out by the 10-year-from-completion eligibility requirement.

2015 Nomination deadline:
Friday, February 20 at 4:00 pm. 2015 nomination form will be posted soon.

» Nomination form

Recent recipients

  • The 2013 Roger E. Wellington Elementary School (Jonathan Levi Architects with Stantec Architecture)
  • 2012 MIT Media Lab (Maki and Associates in assocation with Leers Weinzapfel Associates)
  • 2011 Harvard Graduate Student Housing (Kyu Sung Woo Architects)
  • 2010 New Cambridge Public Library (William Rawn Associates with Ann Beha Architects)
  • 2009 Parker Community Boathouse (Anmahian Winton Architects)
  • 2008 Genzyme Center (Behnisch, Behnisch & Partner; House & Robertson Architects; Next Phase Studios)
  • 2007 Institute of Contemporary Art (Diller Scofidio + Renfro with Perry Dean Rogers Partners)
  • 2006 Wang Campus Center, Wellesley College (Mack Scogin Merrill Elam Architects)
  • 2005 Building H/College of Computer and Information Sciences and Residence Hall, Northeastern University (William Rawn Associates)
  • 2004 Simmons Hall, MIT (Steven Holl Architects and Perry Dean Rogers Partners)
  • 2003 Honan-Allston Branch/Boston Public Library (Machado and Silvetti Associates)
  • 2002 Northeastern University Multi-Faith Center (Office dA)
  • 2001 Boston Public Library renovation (Shepley Bulfinch Richardson and Abbott)


Btn Submit Entry