Skip to Content

Unbuilt Architecture and Design

Submission Deadline: June 20, 2014
Btn Submit Entry iCal

Past Awardees

Museo Maya de América. Designed by over,under and Harry Gugger Studio with Seis Arquitectos. Image courtesy of NeoscapeFloatyard. Designed by Perkins + WillNordhaven: The City Regenerative. Designed by FXFOWLE.Lockgrid — city after the periodic blackout. Designed by W.Y. Frank Chen.Republic of Trinidad & Tobago Primary Schools. Designed by Morris Architects.Urban Rack. Designed by Moskow Linn Architects.Crook/Cup/Bow/Twist. Designed by Schwartz and Architecture.ecoFLEX. Designed by Shepley Bulfinch.Tualang Tower. Designed by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill.Wadi. Designed by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill.Stormhouse, Deception Island, Antarctica. Designed by Lewis Edward Wadsworth IV, Assoc. AIA.PopUp Cafe. Designed by XChange Architects.

Click on any of the thumbnails above to view a slideshow of recent award winners.

Architects, designers, educators and students throughout the world are invited to submit real or theoretical projects.

2014 Unbuilt Architecture and Design Winners

  • Shepley Bulfinch for Enga Provincial Hospital, Nr. Wabag, Enga Province, Papua, New Guinea
  • Stoss + SHoP for Trinity Riverfront: A Water-Based Urbanism, Dallas, TX
  • Landing Studio and VHB for INFRA-SPACE 1 (I-S1), Boston
  • MAde Studio for Playful Horizons, Battle Creek, MI
  • NADAAA for Glasnevin Centenary Chapel, Glasnevin, Ireland
  • MERGE architects for His / Hers House, Prototype for Quincy, MA & Panama City, Panama
  • Platform for Architecture + Research for Taichung Cultural Center, Taichung, Taiwan
  • Pickard Chilton for The Office Building of the Future, Seattle, WA
  • Matt Burgermaster for Adaptation + The Void, Long Branch, NJ

2014 Unbuilt Architecture and Design Jury


Peter Lofgren AIA, principal, Baker Design Group (jury chair)
David Hacin FAIA, founding principal and president, Hacin + Associates
Eden Dutcher, principal, GroundView
Kelly Hutzell AIA, senior architect, over,under; and assistant teaching professor, Carnegie Mellon University

2015 Nomination deadline: Friday, June 19 at 4:00 pm.


Unbuilt architectural designs of any project type are eligible, including purely theoretical projects and unbuilt client-sponsored projects (buildings, interiors, transportation infrastructure, monuments, etc.—all project types). Projects under construction or otherwise apparently assured of construction are not eligible.

Projects that have been honored in this program in past years and work by the design professionals serving as jurors this year (or by their firms) are not eligible.​​

Entry fees

The nonrefundable fee for the first submission is $100 for Massachusetts AIA members; $175 for all others. The fee for each additional submission by the same architect or firm is $65 for Massachusetts AIA members and $120 for all others. (There is no limit on submissions.)


Deadline: 4:00 pm EST June 19, 2015. 2015 entry form will be posted soon.

» Entry form

For more information

Contact the BSA at or 617-951-1433.

Btn Submit Entry