Skip to Content

Reflections on the BSA / back to Programs page »


​The Boston Society of Architects/AIA (BSA) reaches its sesquicentennial anniversary in 2017. To celebrate its history as its gaze turns toward the future, each week throughout the year the BSA will publish a new essay from a leader or ally of the organization. An exhibition focusing on the BSA's achievements over the last 150 years is mounted at BSA Space.

Leadership and the Art of Presidents

Wilson Pollock FAIA, 1990 BSA president
"As I recall, my experience was both challenging and rewarding... and I remember going over to the BSA with a feeling of relief from the difficulties at my firm." Read more.

Anniversary Items

The Seven habits of highly effective

For many BSA members, 2013 was a very good
year. We were finally out of the brutal 2008–2011...


A tale of the polar presidency

I became president of the BSA at the annual
meeting in November 1994. Just a week earlier,
national electionshad installed the first Republican...

Leaving Las Presidency

My term as BSA president is probably best
remembered as the shortest ever, as well as the
generator of possiblythe longest term—Robert...


A Farewell to Presidents

If this were enough of a recollection, it would have
everything in it. It would have Jim Lawrence taking
me to lunch at the Tavern Club to convince me to...

Peter Kuttner FAIA created a cartoon panel in 2005, after running into a small cluster of past-presidents on the show floor of BuildBoston. This chance occurrence happened again in 2007, and at ABX 2013, and 2014. With each new photo, Peter continued to extend the cartoon panel with the line-up of each year's photo. In the spirit of celebrating the BSA's 150th, he has submitted his ongoing panel of past-presidents as a memory for the community to share.

The line up is as follows from left to right.
Rebecca Barnes FAIA (2001), Robert Brown AIA (2001–2), David Dixon FAIA (2003), Brian Healy FAIA (2004), Hubert Murray FAIA (2007), Jane Weinzapfel FAIA (2006), Laura Wernick FAIA (2012), Mike Davis FAIA (2013), Emily Grandstaff-Rice FAIA (2014), Larry Chan FAIA (2010), George Metzger AIA (2005), Peter Kuttner FAIA (1998), Chuck Redmon FAIA (1988), and Tom Payette FAIA (1984).

Image courtesy of Peter Kuttner FAIA.

Past Events

February 16, 2017 | 6:30 PM - 9:30 PM