Skip to Content

Accessible Design

Submission Deadline: May 20, 2016
Btn Submit Entry iCal

Past Awardees

BAC 951 Boylston Street designed by the Institute for Human Centered DesignBerkshire Towers Addition and Renovation, designed by Kuhn Riddle Architects. Photo by Anita Licis-Ribak Assoc. AIA.MBTA Charles/MGH Red Line Station, designed by Elkus Manfredi Architects. Photo by Kessler Photography.Park Street Church, designed by Mills Whitaker Architects. Photo by Anton Grassl/Esto.

Click on any of the thumbnails above to view a slideshow of recent award winners.

This program recognizes excellence in the design of buildings or facilities that are accessible for persons of all abilities. Successful projects include the integration of accessibility requirements and exceed the legal requirements with features that anticipate diverse user needs and benefits.

Creative solutions are sought that include effective accessibility as part of well-designed, responsive architecture in these categories:

A. Public Architecture
Projects are buildings and facilities to which Massachusetts statute 521 CMR applies. This statute (MGL Chapter 22, Section 13A) may be viewed at

B. Private Residential
Projects address an individual’s personal accessibility needs.

C. William D. Smith Memorial Award
Projects integrate accessibility with historic preservation.

In private residences, public and commercial buildings, entries may be for entire facilities or site-specific solutions. Project types might include exteriors (ramps, signage, campuses, landscape); interiors (entries, bathrooms, hardware, lifts, details); or buildings. Entries will be judged in part on effectiveness in integrating the specific access solution into the overall project design. The jury is empowered to determine the extent to which design excellence is informed by aesthetic, functional, social, sustainable, as well as accessible and other characteristics.

2016 Winning Projects

Public Architecture (projects are buildings and facilities to which Massachusetts statute 521 CMR applies)

Honor Award
Framingham State University Science Complex Addition and Renovations, Ellenzweig
Mayor Thomas M. Menino Park, Weston & Sampson | Spurr Design Studio
New England Aquarium Giant Ocean Tank Renovation, Cambridge Seven Associates

Framingham Library Frontispiece Addition, Abacus Architects + Planners
Myra Hiatt Kraft Memorial Footbridge, Beals and Thomas

Codman Academy Charter Public School, Lithgow Building Renovation, MDS/Miller Dyer Spears
Peter Bulkeley Terrace Senior Housing and Community Center, Abacus Architects + Planners

William D. Smith Memorial Award (integrating accessibility with historic preservation)              

Honor Award
Harvard University River Houses, Kieran Timberlake

Hancock United Church of Christ, Mills Whitaker Architects
Upton Town Hall Restoration and Renovation, McGinley Kalsow & Associates

Christ Church, Frank Shirley Architects


Andrew Bedar AIA, senior vice president, BKA Associates
George Delegas AIA, principal, Fletcher Thompson
Dawn Guarriello AIA, Bergmeyer Associates
Jane Hardin, Simmons School of Social Work
Gary Kane AIA, The Archiectural Team
Stephanie McGoldrick NCIDQ, assistant professor of interior design, Mount Ida Collge
Hazel Ryerson, Massachusetts College of Art and Design
Carol Steinberg, co-owner, Steinberg Doyle


This program is open to everyone—designers, building officials, citizens, community groups, building owners and public agencies. Projects and solutions must be located in Massachusetts. Associate AIA members and other unlicensed designers may submit projects that do not require the stamp of a licensed professional. Projects must have been completed after January 1, 2010, and before April 15, 2016. Projects that have been honored in past years and work by jurors or by their firms are ineligible.

Entry fees

The nonrefundable entry fee for the first submission is $50 for Massachusetts AIA members and $100 for all others. The fee for each additional submission by the same architect or firm is $30 for Massachusetts AIA members and $60 for all others. (There is no limit on submissions.) Checks should be made payable to Boston Society of Architects.


Mail completed entry form, with your entry fee, and design materials to:
BSA Accessible Design Awards
Boston Society of Architects 
290 Congress Street 
Boston, MA 02210

All submissions are due by 4:00 pm on May 20, 2016. Conceal references to the architecture firm on all materials submitted for the jury’s review. 

For more information contact the BSA at or 617-391-4017.

Btn Submit Entry