Skip to Content

BSA Award of Honor

Submission Deadline: April 12, 2019
Btn Submit Entry iCal

Past Awardees

Ann Beha FAIA (2018)Henry Cobb FAIA (2017)Alex Krieger (2016)Theodore Landsmark Assoc. AIA (2015)Ed Tsoi FAIA (2013)Andrea Leers FAIA (2009)Jane Weinzapfel FAIA (2009)

Click on any of the thumbnails above to view a slideshow of recent award winners.

The purpose of this award is to recognize outstanding contributions to architecture and to the profession.

2018 Recipient

Ann Beha FAIAAnn M. Beha FAIA is Principal of Ann Beha Architects, a Boston-based firm known for its exploration of heritage in dialogue with contemporary design. Marked by strong educational and cultural content, and widely honored, Ann Beha’s design work captures place and history, responding in fresh, modern, and innovative ways. She founded ABA 40 years ago to address the overlooked potential of preservation and adaptive reuse to revitalize cities and communities, and expanded the firm’s practice to award-winning new design, nationally and internationally.

Ann Beha has been Design Principal for honored projects at the University of Chicago, Princeton University, Cornell University Law School, and MIT. Her civic projects include the United States Embassy in Athens, Greece, the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of American History, and Boston’s Museum of Fine Arts. She is currently Design Principal for Yale’s new Center for Humanities and for wide-ranging projects for the performing and visual arts, education, and civic resources.

A graduate of Wellesley College, Ann Beha received a Master of Architecture Degree from MIT, was a Loeb Fellow at the Graduate School of Design at Harvard University and Distinguished Visiting Professor of Design at the City College of New York. She is a writer and lecturer, member of Harvard University’s Design Advisory Council, serves on the Industry Advisory Group for the US Department of State’s Bureau of Overseas Buildings Operations, and is the BSA representative to the Citizens Advisory Commission for the Back Bay Station South End Development.


Ann Beha FAIA (2018) David Lee FAIA (2000)
Henry Cobb FAIA (2017) Earl Flansburgh FAIA (1999)
Alex Krieger (2016) Buz Brannen FAIA (1998)
Theodore Landsmark Assoc. AIA (2015) Don Stull FAIA (1997)
Fred Koetter FAIA and
Susie Kim AIA (2014)
Jean Paul Carlhian FAIA (1996)
Ed Tsoi FAIA (2013) Carl Koch FAIA (1995)
Jane Thompson, Assoc. AIA (2012) Gerhard Kallmann FAIA (1994)
Tad Stahl FAIA (2011) Mike McKinnell FAIA (1994)
Jon McKee AIA (2010) Chip Harkness FAIA (1993)
Andrea Leers FAIA and
Jane Weinzapfel FAIA (2009)
Tom Payette FAIA (1992)
Jerry McCue FAIA (2008) Sally Harkness FAIA (1991)
Hugh Shepley FAIA (2007) Ben Thompson FAIA (1990)
Rebecca Barnes FAIA (2006) Norman Fletcher FAIA (1989)
Joan Goody FAIA (2005) Hugh Stubbins FAIA (1988)
Robert Campbell FAIA (2004) James Lawrence FAIA (1987)
Richard Bertman FAIA (2003) Pietro Belluschi FAIA (1986)
Chuck Redmon FAIA (2002) Arcangelo Cascieri FAIA (1985)
Ken DeMay FAIA (2001) ​Lawrence Anderson FAIA
(1984; first awarded)


Individual must be a BSA member, current or former, and have made "outstanding contributions to architecture and to the profession" over an extended period of time. (This broad qualification is meant to allow a large degree of flexibility over the years.)

Btn Submit Entry