Skip to Content

Education Facilities Design

Submission Deadline: April 26, 2019
Btn Submit Entry iCal

Past Awardees

Arts Center, Seton Hill University, designed by designLAB architects with BSHM Architects (Higher Education)Powerhouse, Amherst College, designed by Bruner/Cott & Associates (Higher Education)Western Dining Commons, Miami University, designed by CBT Architects (Higher Education)Arts & Innovation Center, Indian Mountain School, designed by Flansburgh Architects (K-12)Roger E. Wellington Elementary School, designed by Jonathan Levi Architects with Stantec ArchitectureBoso Gary C. Comer Geochemistry Building, designed by Payette. Photo by Warren Jagger.Silliman College, designed by KieranTimberlake. Photo by Peter Aaron/Esto.Children's School, designed by Maryann Thompson Architects. Photo by Chuck Choi Architectural Photography.

Click on any of the thumbnails above to view a slideshow of recent award winners.

What projects are eligible?

Work of any type—including new construction or rehabilitation of private-sector or public-sector projects—are eligible.

Projects should be submitted to one of two categories:

  1. K-12 education facilities (including pre-K, elementary, and secondary educational facilities)
  2. Higher education facilities

Projects that have been honored by prior Education Facilities Design Awards juries are ineligible, as is work by jurors or by their firms.

Submissions in which materials refer in any way to the submitters or associated parties will be disqualified.

Who is eligible to submit?

Anyone is eligible to submit. Massachusetts AIA member firms receive special pricing.

Associate AIA members and other unlicensed design professionals, including interior architects or interior designers, may submit projects that do not require the stamp of a licensed professional.

Where must eligible projects be located?

Projects by New England design professionals may be located anywhere.

Projects by others must be located in New England.

When must have eligible projects been built?

Projects must have been completed between January 1, 2012 and December 31, 2018.

How do I submit my project?

Visit the BSA Design Awards submission page, create an account or log in, and submit.

How much is the nonrefundable entry fee?

Massachusetts AIA member firms pay $150 for their first submission and $100 for subsequent submissions.

Nonmembers pay $250 for their first submission and $200 for subsequent submissions.

How are projects judged?

The judging criterion is design excellence as defined by the jury.

The jury will meet in May or June 2019. The jury may view projects independently on a computer screen; the jury will view projects as a group on a projector screen.

About the BSA Design Awards

Each year the Boston Society of Architects/AIA (BSA/AIA), often in collaboration with other organizations, sponsors awards programs to honor design excellence in Massachusetts, throughout New England, and beyond. By recognizing remarkable achievements in architecture, the design community highlights exemplary projects that serve as inspiration for practitioners. Equally important, these awards elevate the potential for positive impact that architecture has on quality of life for everyone.

Btn Submit Entry