Skip to Content

Healthcare Facilities Design Awards

Submission Deadline: May 16, 2014
Btn Submit Entry iCal

Past Awardees

Vertical Expansion Initiative by ARC/Architectural Resources CambridgeWing Memorial Hospital and Medical Centers, Surgical Center and Bed Tower by PayetteThe Pennsylvania State University Hershey Medical Center Cancer Institute by PayetteThe Pennsylvania State University Hershey Medical Center Cancer Institute by Payette

Click on any of the thumbnails above to view a slideshow of recent award winners.

2014 Healthcare Facilities Design Awards Winners

  • The S/L/A/M Collaborative for Marlborough Hospital Cancer Center, Marlborough, Massachusetts
  • Perkins+Will for Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital, Charlestown, Massachusetts
  • Perkins+Will with Stanley Beaman & Sears for Nemour's Children's Hospital, Jacksonville, Florida
  • Shepley Bulfinch for Smilow Cancer Hospital at Yale-New Haven, New Haven, Connecticut
  • Tsoi/Kobus & Associates with Cooper Robertson & Partners for Duke Cancer Center, Durham, North Carolina
  • Steffian Bradley Architects for Baystate Children’s Specialty Center, Springfield, Massachusetts
  • Steffian Bradley Architects for Mattapan Community Health Center, Mattapan, Massachusetts
  • Paul Lukez Architecture for MDCO Medical Simulation Center, Parsippany, New Jersey
  • Payette for Boston Children’s Hospital Mandell Building, Boston
  • Payette for Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center | Center for Surgical Innovation, Lebanon, New Hampshire
  • Payette for Penn State Hershey Children’s Hospital, Hershey, Pennsylvania
  • Ellenzweig in collaboration with architecture+ for Worcester Recovery Center and Hospital, Worcester, Massachusetts

The 2014 Healthcare Facilities Design Awards Jury (from AIA Rhode Island)

Cynthia Gerlach AIA, associate, Robinson Green Beretta &ndsp;
Timothy Kennedy AIA, associate, n|e|m|d architects
Mehdi Khosrovani AIA, president, n|e|m|d architects


Any healthcare facility of any type built anywhere in the world by any New England architect; or any healthcare facility built in New England by an architect anywhere in the world is eligible.

The sole judging criterion is design excellence. The jury is empowered to determine the extent to which design excellence is informed by aesthetic, functional, contextual, sustainability, social or other characteristics.


Small and large healthcare projects—new facilities and renovations/additions—of any type are eligible, including hospitals, ambulatory care facilities, medical office buildings, long-term-care facilities, continuing-care facilities, biomedical facilities, in-school clinics, dentists’ offices, specialty facilities, etc. Assisted-living, retirement, child-care, and similar facilities are not eligible in their own right, but healthcare elements of such facilities are eligible. Built projects must have been completed after January 1, 2007.

Projects that have been honored in this program in past years and work by the design professionals serving as jurors this year (or by their firms) are not eligible.

Entry fees

The nonrefundable fee for the first submission is $150 for Massachusetts AIA members; $250 for all others. The fee for each additional submission by the same architect or firm is $100 for Massachusetts AIA members and $165 for all others. (There is no limit on submissions.)


Deadline: 4:00 pm EST May 16, 2014

» Entry form

For more information

Contact the BSA at or 617-951-1433.

Btn Submit Entry