Skip to Content

Honor Awards for Design Excellence

Submission Deadline: June 8, 2018
Btn Submit Entry iCal

Past Awardees

Interdisciplinary Science and Engineering Complex by PayetteTozzer Anthropology Building designed by Kennedy & Violich ArchitectureIsland Residence designed by Peter Rose + PartnersClaire T. Carney Library designed by designLAB architects with Austin Architects. Photo by Jonathan HillyerMattapan Branch, Boston Public Library by William Rawn Associates, Architects

Click on any of the thumbnails above to view a slideshow of recent award winners.

2018 Honor Awards for Design Excellence jury

​Hosted by AIA Minnesota

Matthew Kreilich FAIA​​ Ernesto Ruiz-Garcia AIA Malini Srivastava AIA
Matthew Kreilich FAIA
principal, Snow Kreilich Architects
Ernesto Ruiz-Garcia AIA
vice president, Opus AE Group
Malini Srivastava AIA
principal, Design and Energy Laboratory
Geoffrey Warner Angela Wolf Scott AIA


Geoffrey Warner
principal, Alchemy Architects
Angela Wolf Scott AIA
​principal, MacDonald & Mack Architects


This program is co-sponsored by Poole Professional and XL Insurance.

What projects are eligible?

Structures (or groups of structures) of any size or type (including rehabilitations, interior architecture, monuments, etc.) may be considered. The Honor Awards for Design Excellence program is intended to honor the year’s “best of the best.”

Projects honored by prior Honor Awards for Design Excellence juries are ineligible, as is work done by this year’s jurors or their firms.

Who is eligible to submit?

Anyone is eligible to submit. Massachusetts AIA member firms receive special pricing.

Associate AIA members and other unlicensed architecture graduates may submit projects that do not require the stamp of a licensed professional.

Where must eligible projects be located?

Projects by Massachusetts architects, designers, and firms may be located anywhere.

Projects by others must be located in Massachusetts.

When must have eligible projects been built?

Projects must have been completed between January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2017.

How do I submit my project?

Visit the BSA Design Awards submission page, create an account, and submit. Submissions are due by 11:59 PM on the deadline.

How much is the entry fee?

Massachusetts AIA member firms pay $150 for their first submission and $100 for subsequent submissions.

Nonmembers pay $250 for their first submission and $200 for subsequent submissions.

How are projects judged?

The judging criterion is design excellence as defined by the jury.​

For more information

Contact the BSA at or 617-391-4026.

2017 Winning Projects

Honor Award
Fisher Hill Reservoir Gatehouse and Comfort Station, Touloukian Touloukian
Client: Town of Brookline
Interdisciplinary Science and Engineering Complex, Payette
Client: Northeastern University
Saieh Hall for Economics, Ann Beha Architects
Client: University of Chicago Facilities Services
Seton Hill Arts Center, designLAB architects with BSHM Architects
Client: Seton Hill University
Tanderrum Pedestrian Bridge, John Wardle Architects with NADAAA
Client: Major Projects Victoria

Bruce C. Bolling Municipal Building, Mecanoo Architecten and Sasaki
Client: City of Boston
Design Building, Leers Weinzapfel Associates
Client: University of Massachusetts Building Authority
Farnham-Connolly State Park Pavilion, Touloukian Touloukian
Client: Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation
Forest of Light, Asia Culture Center, Kyu Sung Woo Architects
Client: Ministry of Culture, Sports, and Tourism, Republic of Korea
Qasr Al Muwaiji, Machado Silvetti
Client: The Abu Dhabi Authority for Culture and Heritage
Seaholm Power Plant Offices, Charles Rose Architects
Client: athenahealth

Alan and Sherry Leventhal Admissions Center, Goody Clancy
Client: Boston University
Brakel Police Station, ORG Permanent Modernity
Client: Brakel-Horebeke-Maarkedal-Zwalm Police Departments
Girard, Utile
Client: New Atlantic Development
Keene State College, Living+Learning Commons, Perkins+Will
Client: University System of New Hampshire, Capital Planning and Development
Martire Business and Communications Center, Sasaki
Client: Sacred Heart University
Pagliuca Harvard Life Lab at Harvard University, Shepley Bulfinch
Client: Harvard Business School
Six Rural Interventions, Constable Farm, Moskow Linn Architects
Client: N/A
The Winsor School, Lubin O’Donnell Center for Performing Arts and Wellness, William Rawn Associates, Architects
Client: The Winsor School

Btn Submit Entry