Skip to Content

Housing Design Awards

Submission Deadline: March 21, 2014
Btn Submit Entry iCal

Past Awardees

Residences at Franklin School by Abacus Architects and PlannersPrivate Home by Andrew Cohen ArchitectsSmall House by Maryann Thompson ArchitectsArtreehoose by Della Valle Bernheimer

Click on any of the thumbnails above to view a slideshow of recent award winners.

2014 Housing Design Award Winners

  • COOKFOX for The Hegeman, Brooklyn, NY
  • Desai Chia Architecture for LM Guest House, Dutchess County, NY
  • Peter Rose + Partners for East House, Chilmark, MA
  • Edelman Sultan Knox Wood / Architects for 4380 Bronx Boulevard, Bronx, NY
  • estudio.entresitio for #house#1130, Madrid, Spain
  • estudio.entresitio for 132 Subsidized Dwellings, Ensanche De Vallecas 20, Madrid, Spain
  • Handel Architects for Millennium Place, Boston
  • ICON architecture for Appleton Mills, Lowell, MA
  • Interface Studio Architects with Urbanica Design for E+ // 226-232 Highland, Roxbury, MA
  • Joeb Moore & Partners for Stonington Residence, Stonington, CT
  • Kennedy & Violich Architecture for Soft House, Hamburg
  • Louise Braverman, Architect for Village Health Works Staff Housing, Kigutu, Burundi, Africa
  • N.E.E.D. Architecture for Sanggye 341-5, Seoul, South Korea
  • William Rawn Associates, Architects for 160 Massachusetts Ave, Boston
  • Magnusson Architecture and Planning for 22 Tarrytown Road Workforce Housing, Greenburgh, NY

2014 Housing Design Awards Jury

Lance Jay Brown FAIA, president, AIA New York Chapter               
Beth Broome, managing editor, Architectural Record      
Heather Campisano, chief of staff, Boston Redevelopment Authority                
Amy Korte AIA, Arrowstreet

Any housing type anywhere in the world may be submitted if the architect/firm currently resides in New England or New York. Any architect anywhere in the world may submit projects located in New England or New York.

The sole judging criterion is design excellence. The jury is empowered to determine the extent to which design excel- lence is defined by aesthetic, functional, contextual, sustainability, social or other characteristics such as “liveability.” The jury may elect to honor projects by building type or other categories or may honor projects without making any such distinctions.

This award is co-sponsored by the AIA New York Chapter.


Eligible projects may be new construction or rehabilitations of any private-sector or public-sector project type completed after January 1, 2005. 

Associate AIA members and other unlicensed architecture graduates may submit projects that do not require the stamp of a licensed professional. 

Projects that have been honored in this program in past years and work by the design professionals serving as jurors this year (or by their firms) are not eligible.

Entry fees

The nonrefundable fee for the first submission is $125 for Massachusetts AIA members, and $200 for all others. The fee for each additional submission by the same architect or firm is $85 for Massachusetts AIA members and $135 for all others. (There is no limit on submissions.)

2014 Submission

Deadline: 4:00 pm EST March 21, 2014

» Entry form

For more information

Contact the BSA at or 617-951-1433.

Btn Submit Entry