Skip to Content

Small Firms Design Awards

Submission Deadline: April 25, 2014
Btn Submit Entry iCal

Past Awardees

Truro Residence by ZeroEnergy DesignRiverside Park Pavilion by Touloukian TouloukianRiverside Park Pavilion by Touloukian Touloukian29 Robinson Street by Julian Bonder + Associates

Click on any of the thumbnails above to view a slideshow of recent award winners.

2014 Small Firms Design Awards Winners

  • Paul Lukez Architecture for Proyecto Clamor de Paz, Guaimaca, Honduras
  • studioMLA Architects for Brookline Teen Center, Brookline, Massachusetts
  • Ruhl Walker Architects for Atrium House, Boston
  • Murdough Design for Lakeside Guest House, Squam Lake, Center Harbor, New Hampshire
  • Epstein Joslin Architects for Shalin Liu Performance Center, Rockport, Massachusetts
  • Abacus Architects + Planners for Allencrest Community Center, Leominster, Massachusetts
  • Touloukian Touloukian for 112 Fulton Street, Boston
  • MERGE architects for co/lab: MIT Beaver Works, Cambridge, Massachusetts
  • MERGE architects for Peg Wall, Chelsea, Massachusetts
  • Foley Fiore Architecture for Mid-Century Residence, Cambridge, Massachusetts

2014 Small Firms Design Awards Jury

Carl Solander AIA, Reverse Architecture
Stephanie Horowitz AIA, ZeroEnergy Design
Matthew Simitis AIA, LDa Architecture and Interiors
Laura Meyer IIDA, Meyer & Meyer

Structures or buildings of all project types built anywhere in the world by design firms located in Massachusetts may be submitted. Design professionals anywhere in the world may submit projects built in Massachusetts. 

The sole judging criterion is design excellence. The jury is empowered to determine the extent to which design excellence is defined by aesthetic, functional, contextual, sustainability, social, or other characteristics. We invite submissions of those small gems that small firms typically do not submit to standard everything-is-eligible design awards programs.


Eligible firms are those with 10 or fewer full-time employees in all categories (not just designers). 

Associate AIA members and other unlicensed design professionals, including interior architects or interior designers, may submit projects that do not require the stamp of a licensed professional. 

Projects that have been honored in this program in past years and work by the design professionals serving as jurors this year (or by their firms) are not eligible.

Entry fees

The nonrefundable fee for the first submission is $75 for Massachusetts AIA members and $125 for all others. The fee for each additional submission by the same architect or firm is $50 for Massachusetts AIA members and $85 for all others. (There is no limit on submissions.)


Deadline: 4:00 pm EST April 25, 2014

» Entry form

For more information

Contact the BSA at or 617-951-1433.

Btn Submit Entry