Skip to Content

Unbuilt Architecture and Design

Submission Deadline: June 2, 2017
Btn Submit Entry iCal

Past Awardees

Bamiyan Cultural Centre. Designed by NADAAAMuseo Maya de América. Designed by over,under and Harry Gugger Studio with Seis Arquitectos. Image courtesy of NeoscapeFloatyard. Designed by Perkins + WillNordhaven: The City Regenerative. Designed by FXFOWLE.Lockgrid — city after the periodic blackout. Designed by W.Y. Frank Chen.Republic of Trinidad & Tobago Primary Schools. Designed by Morris Architects.Urban Rack. Designed by Moskow Linn Architects.Crook/Cup/Bow/Twist. Designed by Schwartz and Architecture.ecoFLEX. Designed by Shepley Bulfinch.Tualang Tower. Designed by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill.Wadi. Designed by Skidmore, Owings & Merrill.Stormhouse, Deception Island, Antarctica. Designed by Lewis Edward Wadsworth IV, Assoc. AIA.

Click on any of the thumbnails above to view a slideshow of recent award winners.

Architects, architectural educators, and architecture students throughout the world are invited to submit real or theoretical projects.  

2017 Winning Projects

A Shelter in a Forest, HDR
FBI Headquarters Repo/Hack: The Josef K. Ministry of Dataism and Cyber Intelligence, HKS
Industrial Capriccio: Floating Garden, La Dallman Architects
Justice in Design, NADAAA
Thematic Pavilion, 3six0 architecture
​Waterlily Landing, La Dallman Architects


Peter Lofgren, Elkus Manfredi Architects
Sara Kudra Assoc. AIA, designer, Piatt Associates
Craig Mutter AIA, design leader, CannonDesign
Cathy Offenberg ASLA, principal, CRJA-IBI Group​
Tom Sieniewicz AIA, partner, NBBJ 


Unbuilt architectural designs of any project type are eligible including purely theoretical projects and unbuilt client-sponsored projects (buildings, interiors, transportation infrastructure, monuments, etc.—all project types). Projects under construction or otherwise apparently assured of construction are not eligible.

Projects that have been honored in this program in past years and work by the design professionals serving as jurors this year (or by their firms) are not eligible.​​

Entry fees

The nonrefundable fee for the first submission is $100 for Massachusetts AIA members; $175 for all others. The fee for each additional submission by the same architect or firm is $65 for Massachusetts AIA members and $120 for all others. (There is no limit on submissions.)


Complete this entry form and mail it with your entry fee and design materials to:

BSA Unbuilt Architecture and Design Awards
Boston Society of Architects
290 Congress Street
Boston, MA 02210

All submissions must reach the BSA by 4:00 pm EST on June 2, 2017. Conceal references to the architecture firm on all materials submitted for the jury’s review.

For more information

Contact the BSA at or 617-391-4026.

2016 Winning Projects

Honor Award
African Agribusiness Knowledge Center, ORG Permanent Modernity with P-REX
Elms College Chapel, CannonDesign

​Georgia Multi-Modal Passenger Terminal, FXFOWLE in association with Cooper Carry
Nature Center for Walden Pond, Alfredo Pimentel
Not A Building, A Park/Mission Hill, Sebastian Mariscal Studio
SolBe Learning Center Prototype, Supernormal and BOS|UA

Busan Opera House, Charles Rose Architects
Infrastructural Lifeline for Palestine and Israel, Christoph Hesse Architects
Moon Island Zipline, STUDIO ENÉE architects

Btn Submit Entry