Skip to content

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture

  • COST

    Free and open to the public

Come for an overview of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture and its history, as well as alternative ways to evaluate the social impact of architectural projects and the symbolic dimensions of the most recent award recipients.

The panel will give insight into the jury process, award criteria, and why this cycle’s projects were recognized. They will also highlight those features of the recognized projects that the jury found the most effective in fulfilling the Award’s vision.

Khalil Pirani AIA
senior architect, Kleinfelder

Jenny Elkus AIA
architect, Elkus Manfredi Architects

Hasan-Uddin Khan
Distinguished Professor of Architecture and Historic Preservation, Roger Williams University
founding contributor to the Aga Khan Award for Architecture
Convenor of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture (1977–80)

Rahul Mehrotra
Professor of Urban Design and Planning, Harvard Graduate School of Design
founder and principal, RMA Architects
Steering Committee for the Aga Khan Award for Architecture (2011–2013)

Mary Anne Ocampo Assoc. AIA
principal, Sasaki

Dr. Nasser Rabbat
Aga Khan Professor of Islamic Architecture, MIT
Steering Committee Member, Aga Khan Award for Architecture (2017–19)


The Aga Khan Award for Architecture was established in 1977 and is presented every three years to projects that set new standards of excellence in architecture, planning practices, historic preservation and landscape architecture. The current prize fund totals $1,000,000 and the winners for the current cycle were announced on October 3, 2016.

This is a program in partnership with The Aga Khan Council for the United States.

Sponsored by

Sasaki logo