Skip to content

Honor Awards for Design Excellence

Background: Architects and the built environment strive to exemplify design excellence through engaging, listening, and questioning. As architects and designers, we leverage the power of design to create innovative and new design ideas that address issues of sustainability and social equity.

Eligibility: This award recognizes projects of new construction or rehabilitation of any type or scale that set the bar for future innovation.

Project submissions criteria include a robust approach to sustainability and equity, as well as addressing environmental, social, and economic factors. Projects that contain attributes which successfully reduced the carbon footprint of the architecture, construction, or usage, should make every attempt to highlight those aspects within their entry submission.

Submission fees: All submission fees are non-refundable

  • Massachusetts AIA firm members pay $150 for their first submission
    • $100 for subsequent submissions per category.
  • Nonmembers pay $250 for their first submission
    • $200 for subsequent submissions per category

2021 Winning Projects

05 Harvard University District Energy Facility Brad Feinknopf

Harvard University District Energy Facility, designed by Leers Weinzapfel Associates

Image courtesy of Brad Feinknopf

8 DFCI Chestnut Hill Robert Benson Photography

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute – Chestnut Hill, designed by Payette

Image courtesy of Robert Benson

MIT Site 4 John Horner 04

MIT Site 4, designed by NADAAA with Perkins&Will

Image courtesy of John Horner

01 The Little Building e01 Robert Benson

The Little Building, designed by Elkus Manfredi Architects

Image courtesy of Robert Benson

03 Hayden Library Horner

Hayden Library, designed by Kennedy & Violich Architecture

Image courtesy of John Horner

01 Roxbury Branch Library Anton Grassl

Roxbury Branch of the Boston Public Library Renovation, designed by Utile, Inc.

Image courtesy of Anton Grassl

View more past Campus Planning and Urban Design Awards winning projects on the Design Awards website.

Back to the 2022 Design Awards homepage.