Skip to content

BSA News

Dec 16, 2021

The BSA announces the winners for the 2021 BSA Design Awards

BSA Award Sponsor Detail014

Image courtesy Kit Castagne

The Boston Society for Architecture (BSA) is pleased to announce the winners for the 2021 BSA Design Awards. The awardees will be honored at the BSA Awards Gala on January 27, 2022.

The BSA honors projects that embody critical values that advance architecture, equity, and the environment. This year’s awards were asked to address the principles of the AIA Framework for Design Excellence, which sets standards for buildings that demonstrate progress toward a zero-carbon, equitable, resilient, and healthy built environment.

The level of award given to each project will be announced at the BSA Awards Gala on Thursday, January 27, 2022 at BSA Space in Boston. The co-Masters of Ceremony are: Emily Grandstaff-Rice FAIA, Senior Associate at Arrowstreet and 2023 AIA President-elect; and Gabriela Baierle AIA LEED AP BD+C, Architect at Finegold Alexander.

The award-winning projects for each category are as follows:

Accessible Design

  • Coburn Hall, University of Massachusetts Lowell – CBT Architects
  • Fitchburg City Hall – ICON Architecture
  • Hayden Library – Kennedy & Violich Architecture
  • Inclusive Landscapes at Community College Campuses – Jones Architecture, Inc.
  • Lowell Justice Center – Finegold Alexander Architects
  • Weinberg House – Abacus Architects + Planners

Higher Education Facilities Design

  • Center for Engineering, Innovation and Sciences – Leers Weinzapfel Associates
  • Hayden Library – Kennedy & Violich Architecture
  • Multipurpose Arena – ARC/ Architectural Resources Cambridge
  • New Science Center – Payette
  • Richard and Nancy Donahue Family Academic Arts Center – Leers Weinzapfel Associates
  • Student Learning Commons – Ann Beha Architects

Honor Awards for Design Excellence, juried by AIA Seattle

  • Dana-Farber Cancer Institute – Chestnut Hill – Payette
  • Harvard University District Energy Facility – Leers Weinzapfel Associates
  • Hayden Library – Kennedy & Violich Architecture
  • MIT Site 4 – NADAAA, Perkins&Will
  • Roxbury Branch of the Boston Public Library Renovation – Utile, Inc.
  • The Little Building – Elkus Manfredi Architects

Hospitality Design

  • The Revolution Hotel – PCA, Inc. (PCA)
  • The Williams Inn – CambridgeSeven
  • White Elephant Palm Beach – Elkus Manfredi Architects

Housing Design, in partnership with AIA New York

  • 1490 Southern Boulevard – Bernheimer Architecture
  • Adohi Hall – Leers Weinzapfel Associates
  • Cable Mills Modern Mill – Merge Architects
  • The Essex at Essex Crossing – Handel Architects

Small Firms Design

  • Concord Carport & Deck – Paul Lukez Architecture
  • Emerald Necklace Conservancy Renovation – BOS|UA
  • Ocean's Edge – Jacob Lilley Architects
  • Public Radio Exhange (PRX) Headquarters – BOS|UA
  • Transforming Gallery – J.Roc Design

Sustainable Design

  • Adohi Hall – Leers Weinzapfel Associates
  • E+ Residences: 36-38 Colonial Avenue – Scott Payette Architects and Leupold Brown Goldbach Architekten
  • Finch Cambridge – ICON Architecture
  • Roxbury Branch of the Boston Public Library Renovation – Utile, Inc.
  • Science and Engineering Complex – Payette

Unbuilt Architecture and Design

  • Bethesda Medical Center – August Green LLC
  • Door County Granary – LA DALLMAN
  • Floating Bridge – Paul Lukez Architecture
  • Kurgi Observation Tower – Office for Design Research + Raconteur Design

The BSA will also award the 2021 Harleston Parker Medal at the BSA Awards Gala. Established in 1921 in memory of Boston architect J. Harleston Parker with the first medal given in 1923, this highest honor awarded by the Boston Society of Architects/AIA recognizes “the most beautiful piece of architecture, building, monument or structure within the City or Metropolitan Parks District limits.”

Finalists include:

  • As If It Were Already Here – Studio Echelman
  • Boston Harbor Islands Pavilion – Utile, Inc.
  • Harvard Art Museums Renovation and Expansion – Renzo Piano Building Workshop, Payette Associates
  • Jefferson Park Apartments – Abacus Architects + Planners
  • Tozzer Anthropology Building – Kennedy & Violich Architecture

In addition to recognizing excellent projects, the BSA Awards Gala will celebrate a group of remarkable people for their contributions to the BSA community and the building and design professions.

These individuals are:

  • Rodolfo Machado and Jorge Silvetti, Machado Silvetti, 2021 BSA Award of Honor recipients
  • Parke MacDowell AIA, 2021 Earl R. Flansburgh Young Designers Awards recipient
  • New Urban Mechanics / Boston Housing Innovation Lab, 2021 BSA Commonwealth Award recipient
  • Shauna Gillies-Smith, ASLA, 2021 BSA Honorary Membership recipient

Learn more about these outstanding projects and people at the BSA Awards Gala on January 27. For more details visit,

Thank you to the BSA Awards Gala sponsors