Skip to Content

7th BSA Design Awards Gala

The 7th BSA Design Awards Gala was held on January 18, 2018 at BSA Space, 290 Congress Street, Boston. Hundreds of industry professionals gathered for a cocktail reception to celebrate the 2017 design award winners.

The BSA Design Awards Gala is the design community's best and highest celebration of great design and the people who create it. As always, the Gala provided ample opportunity for networking and connecting with architects, designers, developers, builders, and other top industry professionals. The cocktail party for this black tie event began at 6:30 pm at BSA Space, which also hosted an exhibition celebrating the year's design award-winning projects. The awards hierarchy was revealed for the first during this coveted event.

This year’s Gala was hosted by Peggy Fogelman, Norma Jean Calderwood Director of the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum (ISGM). The ISGM’s addition, designed by Renzo Piano Building Workshopwith with Stantec, was the recipient of the 2015 Harleston Parker Medal. The party included hors d'oeuvres, multiple bars, and hours of time to network, mingle, and toast the winning firms and projects. Interested in sponsoring the Gala? Learn more or email

For general inquiries, email

2017 Individual Honors and Awards

This year, the BSA recognized Henry N. Cobb FAIA, founding partner of Pei Cobb Freed & Partners, as the recipient of the 2017 BSA Award of Honor.

Other honorees, awarded by their peers for their accomplishments, included: Joshua Simoneau AIA, recipient of the 2017 BSA Earl R. Flansburgh Young Architects Award; Vivien Li Hon. BSA, recipient of the 2017 BSA Commonwealth Award; and Matthew Kiefer Hon. BSA, recipient of 2017 BSA Honorary Membership.

Henry Cobb FAIA​​ Joshua Simoneau AIA Vivien Li Hon BSA Matthew Kiefer Hon BSA
BSA Award of Honor
Henry N. Cobb FAIA
BSA Earl R. Flansburgh Young Architects Award
Joshua Simoneau AIA
BSA Commonwealth Award 
Vivien Li Hon. BSA
BSA Honorary Membership 
Matthew Kiefer Hon. BSA


2017 Winning Projects

Housing Design

Artist Retreat, GLUCK+. Client: Private
Courtyard House, NO ARCHITECTURE. Client: Private
El Chalet, ISA—Interface Studio Architects. Client: Earth Flats LP
Enclave at the Cathedral, Handel Architects. Client: The Brodsky Organization
Green House, Roger Ferris + Partners. Client: Private
Grow Box, MERGE architects. Client: Private
Malabia 933, studio ai architects. Client: Malabia 933
Powerhouse, ISA—Interface Studio Architects. Client: Equinox Management & Construction; Postgreen
Wythe Corner House, Young Projects. Client: Private

Small Firms/Small Projects Design Awards

Cabin on a Rock, I-KANDA Architects. Client: Ben Karlin and Megan Insco
David H. Koch Childcare Center at MIT, D.W. Arthur Associates Architecture. Client: Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Meister Consultants Group—A Cadmus Company Offices, Kennedy and Violich Architecture. Clients: Meister Consultants Group
Fisher Hill Reservoir Park Gatehouse and Comfort Station, Touloukian Touloukian. Client: Town of Brookline
Five Fields Play Structure, Five Fields Neighborhood, Matter Design and FR|SCH Projects. Client: Five Fields Neighborhood
Health Yoga Life, BOS | UA. Client: Health Yoga Life
Meyer Street Residence, Studio Luz Architects. Client: Private
Micropolis, Reverse Architecture. Client: Unicorn Realty LTD Partnership
Piedmont Park Square, Studio Luz Architects. Client: TCR Development; JB Ventures
Rudolph House, Ruhl Walker Architects. Client: Private
Six Rural Interventions, Constable Farm, Moskow Linn Architects. Client: N/A
Trefoil House, J.Roc Design. Client: Jeff Merselis
Wood Flow, J.Roc Design. Client: EJ Zhang
ZigZag House, Reverse Architecture. Client: Private

Unbuilt Architecture and Design

A Shelter in a Forest, HDR
FBI Headquarters Repo/Hack: The Josef K. Ministry of Dataism and Cyber Intelligence, HKS
Industrial Capriccio: Floating Garden, La Dallman Architects
Justice in Design, NADAAA
Thematic Pavilion, 3six0 architecture
​Waterlily Landing, La Dallman Architects

Honor Awards for Design Excellence

Alan and Sherry Leventhal Admissions Center, Goody Clancy. Client: Boston University
Brakel Police Station, ORG Permanent Modernity. Client: Brakel-Horebeke-Maarkedal-Zwalm Police Departments
Bruce C. Bolling Municipal Building, Mecanoo Architecten and Sasaki. Client: City of Boston
Design Building, Leers Weinzapfel Associates. Client: University of Massachusetts Building Authority
Farnham-Connolly State Park Pavilion, Touloukian Touloukian. Client: Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation
Fisher Hill Reservoir Gatehouse and Comfort Station, Touloukian Touloukian. Client: Town of Brookline
Forest of Light, Asia Culture Center, Kyu Sung Woo Architects. Client: Ministry of Culture, Sports, and Tourism, Republic of Korea
Girard, Utile. Client: New Atlantic Development
Interdisciplinary Science and Engineering Complex, Payette. Client: Northeastern University
Keene State College, Living+Learning Commons, Perkins+Will. Client: University System of New Hampshire, Capital Planning and Development
Martire Business and Communications Center, Sasaki. Client: Sacred Heart University
Pagliuca Harvard Life Lab at Harvard University, Shepley Bulfinch. Client: Harvard Business School
Qasr Al Muwaiji, Machado Silvetti. Client: The Abu Dhabi Authority for Culture and Heritage
Saieh Hall for Economics, Ann Beha Architects..Client: University of Chicago Facilities Services
Seaholm Power Plant Offices, Charles Rose Architects. Client: athenahealth
Seton Hill Arts Cecnter, designLAB architects. Client: Seton Hill University
Six Rural Interventions, Constable Farm, Moskow Linn Architects. Client: N/A
Tanderrum Pedestrian Bridge, John Wardle Architects with NADAAA. Client: Major Projects Victoria
The Winsor School, Lubin O’Donnell Center for Performing Arts and Wellness, William Rawn Associates, Architects. Client: The Winsor School

Harleston Parker Medal

Boston Public Library, Central Library Renovation Project (Transformation of the Johnson Wing), William Rawn Associates, Architects
Client: City of Boston and Boston Public Library

Collier Memorial, Höweler + Yoon
Client: Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Field Elementary School, Jonathan Levi Architects
Client: Field School Building Committee, Massachusetts School Building Authority, and Town of Weston

Interdisciplinary Science and Engineering Complex, Payette
Client: Northeastern University