Skip to content

BSA News

Aug 04, 2020

Now accepting submissions for 2020 BSA Design Awards

BSA Award Sponsor Detail007

2019 BSA Design Awards Gala

Photo: Kit Castagne

Architecture quite literally shapes the world around us.

Good design has the power not only to create beautiful or functional buildings, but to invigorate, inspire and transform communities. The BSA Design Awards celebrate these outstanding contributions to architecture and the profession. Nine distinct awards across a range of categories recognize projects that demonstrate the power of what great design can accomplish.

New this year, the BSA Design Awards has restructured and divided some categories to expand the breadth of projects recognized and to ensure a variety of project sizes and typologies are celebrated.

This year’s awards will feature a category devoted to Residential Design. In partnership with the AIA New York Custom Residential Architecture Network ® (CRAN®), this category will celebrate projects of four units or fewer. It will alternate years with Housing Design, which will recognize larger multifamily projects.

Also new in 2020, K-12 Education Facilities Design will become its own category and will alternate years with Higher Education Facilities Design.

This year’s awards also include changes to the Sustainable Design Awards submission and evaluation, which now align with the 10 measures of AIA’s Framework for Design Excellence.

For 2020, the Earl R. Flansburgh Young Designers Award is now eligible to architecture students and offers an online exhibition of the winner’s work.

Submissions are now being accepted.

Learn more about the BSA Design Awards or submit a project.