Skip to content

Residential Design Awards

Submissions for Residential Design Awards close on September 16, 2022 at 11:59 PM.

Description: Housing isn’t just about façades; it also fosters a sense of comfort, security, and livability. While the Northeast is a leader in zero carbon standards and codes, opportunities remain for residential design to illustrate progress toward a zero carbon, equitable, and resilient built housing environment.

Eligibility: Single-family (one- to four-unit dwellings) detached residential construction projects are eligible for this award.

Project submissions criteria include a robust approach to sustainability and equity, as well as addressing environmental, social, and economic factors. Projects that contain attributes which successfully reduced the carbon footprint of the architecture, construction, or usage, should make every attempt to highlight those aspects within their entry submission.

Submission fees: All submission fees are non-refundable

  • Massachusetts AIA firm members pay $150 for their first submission
    • $100 for subsequent submissions per category.
  • Members of the following chapters receive special pricing: AIA Massachusetts, AIA New York, AIA Brooklyn, AIA Bronx, AIA Queens, AIA Staten Island, AIA Long Island, AIA Peconic, and AIA Westchester + Hudson Valley
  • Nonmembers pay $250 for their first submission
    • $200 for subsequent submissions per category

These awards are supported by AIA NY Custom Residential Architects Network (CRAN)

View a sample submission form and the 2022 BSA Design Awards Call for Submissions


Submit your entry for the 2022 Residential Design Awards

Submission Site

2020 Winning Projects

Bare hill

Bare Hill Residence, designed by Peter Rose + Partners

Image courtesy of Chuck Choi; Matthew Snyder

Villa varoise

Villa Varoise, designed by NADAAA with Bidard & Raissi

Image courtesy of John Horner

Boulder House

Boulder House, designed by atelierjun

Image courtesy of Namgoong Sun

Courtyard house

Courtyard House, designed by Anmahian Winton Architects

Image courtesy of Florian Holzherr; Jane Messinger

Rudolph House

Rudolph House, designed by Ruhl Studio Architects

Image courtesy of Tony Luong

Mount mauwee

Mount Mauwee House, designed by Paul Schulhof AIA

Image courtesy of Michael Moran

Net zero farmhouse

Net Zero Farmhouse and Barn, designed by Catherine Truman Architects

Image courtesy of Jane Messinger; Nat Rea

View more past Residential Design Awards winning projects on the Design Awards website.

Back to the 2022 Design Awards homepage.