Skip to content

Accessible Design Awards

Buildings should be accessible for all persons of all abilities. The Accessible Design Awards program recognizes design excellence in buildings or facilities that emphasize accessibility, helping to create a more equitable future. Successful projects integrate and exceed the legal requirements for accessibility with features that anticipate diverse user needs and benefits.

Creative solutions are sought that include effective accessibility as part of well-designed, responsive architecture in these categories: the Thomas P. Hopkins Memorial Award for public architecture (buildings and facilities to which Massachusetts statute 521 CMR applies); private residential (projects that address an individual's personal accessibility needs); and the William D. Smith Memorial Award for historic preservation (projects that integrate accessibility with historic preservation).

The call for entries is currently closed.

Sample submission form

This category now asks you to address at least three of the ten AIA Framework for Design Excellence principles. You can use this sample form for reference as you craft your submission.

View sample form

2021 Winning Projects

02 Weinberg House Chuck Choi

Weinberg House, Abacus Architects + Planners

Image courtesy Chuck Choi

1 Lowell Justice Center Anton Grassl Photography

Lowell Justice Center, Finegold Alexander Architects

Image courtesy Anton Grassl

01 Hayden Library Horner

Hayden Library, Kennedy & Violich Architecture

Image courtesy John Horner

1 Coburn Hall UML Robert Benson

Coburn Hall, University of Massachusetts Lowell, CBT Architects

Image courtesy Robert Benson

CCCC 1 William Horne

Inclusive Landscapes at Community College Campuses, Jones Architecture, Inc.

Image courtesy of Anton Grassl | Esto

Fitchburg After Attic Window Bell

Fitchburg City Hall, ICON Architecture

Image courtesy Trent Bell.

How do I submit my project?

Visit the BSA Design Awards submission page, create an account or log in, and submit.

Past winners

You may view past BSA Design Awards winners here.

About the BSA Design Awards

Each year the Boston Society of Architects/AIA (BSA/AIA), often in collaboration with other organizations, sponsors awards programs to honor design excellence in Massachusetts, throughout New England, and beyond. By recognizing remarkable achievements in architecture, the design community highlights exemplary projects that serve as inspiration for practitioners. Equally important, these awards elevate the potential for positive impact that architecture has on quality of life for everyone.