Skip to content

Healthcare Facilities Design Awards

Description: From advancing equipment technologies to patient population base services, healthcare facility needs are evolving rapidly. The entire healthcare system is under great pressure to reduce costs, increase responsiveness, and adapt to the unexpected.

Eligibility: Small and large healthcare projects such as hospitals, ambulatory care facilities, medical office buildings, and in-school clinics are eligible for this award. Assisted-living, retirement, childcare, and similar facilities are not eligible in their own right, but healthcare facilities within such facilities may be submitted.

Project submissions criteria include a robust approach to sustainability and equity, as well as addressing environmental, social, and economic factors. Projects that contain attributes which successfully reduced the carbon footprint of the architecture, construction, or usage, should make every attempt to highlight those aspects within their entry submission.

Submission fees: All submission fees are non-refundable

  • Massachusetts AIA firm members pay $150 for their first submission
    • $100 for subsequent submissions per category.
  • Nonmembers pay $250 for their first submission
    • $200 for subsequent submissions per category

2020 Winning Projects


Cholera Treatment Center, designed by MASS Design Group

Image courtesy of Iwan Baan, MASS Design Group

DS Chen

D.S. Chen Health and Wellness Center, designed by ARC/ Architectural Resources Cambridge

Image courtesy of ARC/ Architectural Resources Cambridge; Deerfield Academy; Robert Benson Photography


New Patient Tower and Renovations, designed by Shepley Bulfinch with GLHN Architects and Engineers

Image courtesy of Jeremy Bittermann


Adelaide of Newton Centre – Memory Care Living, designed by Bechtel Frank Erickson Architects

Image courtesy of Greg Premru

Treatment clinic

Beverly Clinic, designed by Merge Architects

Image courtesy of John Horner

View more past Healthcare Facilities Design Awards winning projects on the Design Awards website.

Back to the 2022 Design Awards homepage.