Skip to content
EC Architects org 03 01

Existing Conditions Surveys

Providing the Building Community with As Built Building Documentation; 3D Building Information Models, 3D Laser Scanning.

Celebrating 20 years of service in Boston!

Celebrating 20 years of service in Boston!

Learn More

EC Logo color 061119 01

BSA News

Dec 17, 2019

Carole Wedge FAIA Receives 2020 AIA Edward C. Kemper Award

Wedge Carole 2

Image courtesy David Salafia

In Washington DC, on December 12, 2019, the Board of Directors and the Strategic Council of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) announced Carole Wedge FAIA, president and CEO of Shepley Bulfinch, as the 2020 recipient of the Edward C. Kemper Award. The Edward C. Kemper Award, named in honor of the AIA’s first executive director, is given annually to an architect who has contributed significantly to the profession through service to the Institute.

Wedge began her career in the mail room at Shepley Bulfinch--the nation’s oldest continuously operating firm--more than 30 years ago. In the 15 years since she assumed the firm’s presidency, she has infused its vision and culture with innovation, diversity, and sustainability.

In addition to a distinguished career in professional practice, Carole's leadership in the BSA includes a founding role in the Women's Principal's Group and a seat on the ArchitectureBoston editorial board. She has been a BSA member through 1997.

Read more about the Wedge's selection as the 2020 Edward C. Kemper recipient.


IMG 2106

Host your event at BSA Space

Plan green!
Modern space for event hosting available now.

Host Here