Skip to content

2021 Design Awards

Rectangular Award 2021 Dec 22 11 11 21 PM 000 Customized View34453661310 png

The 2021 Hobson Award

BSA Design Awards Celebration

Join us on May 19, 2022 to celebrate the 2021 BSA Design Award recipients!


These awards celebrate exemplary projects that advance excellence in architecture and design, and demonstrate the power of the built environment to empower communities, promote change, and build a more sustainable, equitable Boston.

View the full gallery of project images on the Design Awards website.

Design Award Winners

Harleston Parker Medal

Since 1921, the Harleston Parker Award has sought to identify the most beautiful piece of architecture, building, monument, or structure within the City.

Renzo Piano Building Workshop in collaboration with Payette, Harvard Art Museums Renovation and Expansion


Photo: Nic Lehoux

Harleston Parker People’s Choice Award

The winner of the Harleston Parker People's Choice Award is chosen by a poll open to all.

Abacus Architects + Planners, Jefferson Park Apartments


Photo: Bruce T. Martin

Accessible Design Award
Abacus Architects + Planners, Weinberg House


Photo: Chuck Choi

Higher Education Facilities Design Award
Ann Beha Architects, Student Learning Commons


Photo: Chuck Choi

Hospitality Design Award
PCA, The Revolution Hotel


Photo: Robert Benson

Housing Design Award
Handel Architects, The Essex at Essex Crossing


Photo: Lester Ali

Small Firms Design Award
BOS|UA, Emerald Necklace Conservancy Renovation


Photo: John Horner

BOS|UA with Rukamathu.Smith, Public Radio Exchange (PRX) Headquarters


Photo: John Horner

Sustainable Design Award
Payette, Science and Engineering Complex


Photo: Chuck Choi

Honor Award for Design Excellence
Leers Weinzapfel Associates, Harvard University District Energy Facility


Photo: Brad Feinknopf

Unbuilt Architecture and Design Awards
No 2021 Honor Award recipient

BSA Honors and Awards Recipients

BSA Award of Honor
Rodolfo Machado
Jorge Silvetti

BSA Commonwealth Award
Mayor’s Office of New Urban Mechanics / Mayor’s Housing Innovation Lab

BSA Earl R. Flansburgh Young Designers Award
Parke MacDowell AIA

Honorary BSA Membership
Shauna Gillies-Smith ASLA

Awards Jurors

Meet the jurors for this year's awards cycle! Get to know them by reading their profile interviews.

Gala Sponsors

We are thankful to our sponsors who continue to support the importance of design excellence, the power architecture plays in shaping our future and the many people who make the Boston AEC community a true global leader.

If you are interested in supporting the awards program, please contact Patricia Olshan at [email protected].

Past winners

You may visit past BSA Design Awards winners here.

About the BSA Design Awards

Each year the Boston Society of Architects/AIA (BSA/AIA), often in collaboration with other organizations, sponsors awards programs to honor design excellence in Massachusetts, throughout New England, and beyond. By recognizing remarkable achievements in architecture, the design community highlights exemplary projects that serve as inspiration for practitioners. Equally important, these awards elevate the potential for positive impact that architecture has on quality of life for everyone.